• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Color of print before heating process

nevessa

Hi, I am new to this forum, couldn't find the right place to introduce myself. I'm a landscape photographer, wanting to put my images on mugs and tiles. My question concerning mug press sublimation: Is the color of the print always different than the finished product? If so, does one have to change the color of the image in the software before the sublimation process? As you can tell, I'm new to sublimation also. My mug press was given to me and after 2 or 4 attempts, the color got a little better, but not perfect, and can't get the image to darken on edges, like maybe the pressure is not enough at the edges. Would appreciate a conversation with someone experienced with this method. Thank you so much!

SlightlyChilled

Color on the paper will be off. You will have a hard time if you are trying to get the image to the lip of the mug. You need to play with it. As for darkening the image you need to let it cook longer. What temp and time are you using.

WildWestDesigns

Is the color of the print always different than the finished product?

From my experience, yes.

If so, does one have to change the color of the image in the software before the sublimation process?

It's really going to depend on what you are sublimating it on. Fabrics tend to need a little change in the colors due to the "blending" that goes on when you use a fabric that isn't close to pure white.

Also, are you just using a small format sublimation printer with sawgrass inks? If so, they do make a color palette (ColorSure, I believe it's called) that tends to stay truer to what color ranges that those inks can handle.