• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Completely frustrated with applying long panels on RV (Please Help!)

ProVogue

Hello all,

I'm new at vehicle wraps. Done a class before through Orafol, but literally about to go insane wrapping this RV. I've wasted so much material and money that I'm just searching for any tips I can get now.

I've got a 38ft RV that I'm wrapping (It's mine so I'm getting some expensive practice). I'm having a big problem with applying large panels. These panels are about 9ft in length (40-50" in width) and everytime I get half way down, the panel starts flaring (stretching) out to the sides. Basically the middle lays down and the edges have about an inch of slack - Causing a nightmare to apply the rest. What am I doing wrong? It must be the way I'm squeegeeing the panel down. The material I am using is Orafol 3551RA with the 290 laminate.

Here are my steps if it helps:

1. Line up the panel
2. Tape the sides of the panel about a ft down. (I've tried 2 ft)
3. Fold the top back and tear off the backing
4. Apply the top ft.
5. Start working down the panel moving from the middle to the right, then middle to the left at a 45 degree angle while I start peeling off the backing.
6. Half way down.. Nightmare

I appreciate anyones help on this..

phototec

I would start from the back and pre-position all the panels in place and allow for the selected overlap, then use the center hinge method (see video), and squeegee back and forth as you start at the hinge and squeegee the lower section as you remove the backing, then do the upper section above the hinge the same way.

[video=youtube;4QFdweHrfv0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QFdweHrfv0[/video]

CSOCSO

I don't hate paint, I just overlay it.