• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Computer performance?

threeputt

Without being a tech myself, is there any way a guy can evaluate whether or not his machine is running optimally?

It seems like mine is slowing down over the last few months. But without any empirical data, how can I know if it's not just me? (hope that makes sense)

I defrag when the machine tells me it's necessary. (after analysis) I have good firewall and anti-virus protection and I know my machine is clean.

Are there any tech-y people who can render an opinion on this?

hydo1

Get a program called CCLEANER. It is free. Run it to remove a bunch of junk and see if that helps.

threeputt

I downloaded the free version of Temp Cleaner. Ran it.

Freed up 8.649 Gig and deleted 26,691 files.

Can this be correct?

Techman

yes temp file cleaner cleaned out that much junk.

I tested this util a few months ago and posted about it here. At that time many reported cleaning out multiple gigs of junk.

ccleaner is and older app. It was actually called crap cleaner when it came out several years ago. It is good but there are others such as temp file cleaner that does a few other things extra.

There are a few other things that a user can do to return the speed back to their machine. A utility is not always the perfect answer.

choucove

No matter what computer you have, or what utilities you run, a computer operating system will begin to slow down with time. An analogy I was told by a teacher was that an accountant for a business that has only been open for three months will be able to retrieve information much faster than an accountant for a business that has been open and have records from three years to sort through.