• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions Computer to Computer

Baysidejim

Hello everyone. I've been a sign painter and done some vinyl lettering for over 30 years. Recently purchased an HP L26500 Latex printer. I was told by a guy at the shop I bought it from that it's better to have a designated computer just for running this machine. They included that computer in the price. I have my main computer that I run Corel Draw on and also use for cutting vinyl. What is the best way to send artwork files to the Digital Print computer for printing? That computer is running Onyx 10. Thank you for any help!

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
Network the computers. If your internet modem has multiple lan connections you can just connect both computers to that and then create a shared folder that you just drop the files into. If you don't have a multi port modem then you can go buy a switch for cheap and hook things up that way.

WildWestDesigns

I too would network them, but I would make sure that neither computer has access to the outside WAN (internet). Keep production computers off the outside network.

Dan360

You can create shared hot folders for your quicksets and drop the files in there, that way it kicks them right into Onyx rather than having to manually import.

TXFB.INS

as stated need to network.

we use a NAS and switch. this keeps the production computers off of the internet

Baysidejim

Thanks everyone. I only have 2 computers now. My main computer that I have been using for years as my personal computer and also for cutting vinyl with. I like having internet access on that one but want to set up the second computer specifically for running the printer. Would the NAS switch accomplish this?