• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Contour Cutting

SignaramaFL

Hi guys, I am new to the sign making industry. I have been in the industry for 6 months, 3 months having a mentor. I am having issues with contour cutting. I print out what I need to, laminate it and when I put it in my cutter (Graphtec FC7000) I am having issues with the crop marks. I dont seem to have an issue if its under 4', but once I get longer than that it seems to not pull the vinyl far enough forward to read the back crop mark. Any help would be great!!!

Thanks-
SAR

Sign-Man Signs

Been my experience that anything over 5 or six inches with a registration reader usually is imposable to get correct. We use a Graphtec Ce-5000 with the ARMS system and have always had trouble with it lining up with the registration marks. My next printer will be a print and cut just for that reason. Since the cutter is friction drive, hence the problem on largers prints. Hope that helps.

Bradster941

You need to leave at least a foot of material after the rear crop marks or else the rear material sensor will be exposed thus stopping the machine.

Jackpine

I use a CE3000Mk2 and have had very little trouble lining up the registration marks. I use Graphtec 4 reg marks, type 1 crop marks all 4 corners. I square the front edge of the material then line it up to the front of the cutter to assure it is square to the cutter. Allow 3 to 4 inches on the front and back to cover the sensors. Low indirect light helps to enhance the sensor light for a higher contrast.

MilanoGuru