• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Converting vector clipart to cutter ready

agile4

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, so be gentle.

Is there a tutorial out there on how to convert clipart like Corel clipart, etc to make it ready for the cutter? I'd like to eventually learn to take a photo and turn it into a silohette(sp?)

I am primarily going to do one color until I learn to do multi's.

Tom

doublesky

Hmmmm.... are you trying to turn a bitmap into vector?
Sounds like you should read up on vector vs. bitmap images, and then try to learn the basics of corel or illustrator by getting a book (I love the illustrator WOW book). It's not that easy to convert a photo image into a cuttable image... unless you've studied vectorization.
If you have true corel clipart, which is vector, it should be cuttable as is though.

signage

Welcome to the forums from PA...

If the clip art is a vector you should be able to cut it! If it is Raster you will need to convert it to Vector or send it to the Vector Doctor to convert it for you!

OldPaint

ill be GENTLE......and say it this way, most of CORELS CLIPART IS VECTORS!!!!! .cmx, .cdr. is a VECTOR FORMAT, no need to convert.
doing a photo to a silohette................is best done in COREL TRACE or ADOBE STREAMLINE.

SAS

Don't know about a tutorial, I'm sure there is do a google search. You can start with auto-trace in Corel then start cleaning up the nodes on simple clip-art but photos are a hole different ball game.. I use eric @ vectordoctor.com he is better and faster then me.

gabagoo

What I want to know is ...who are the geniuses out there who make vectored clipart files that are never complete..ie shapes over shapes and same colour lines intersecting each other? Is that how they teach them in vector college?