• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

CorelDraw or Corel Photo Paint question.

Jim Hill

I am just learning to use CorelDraw and the version I use is CorelDraw 12

I have used PhotoShop for years but so many told me to try CorelDraw so I thought I would give it a shot.

When designing a new image do you use CorelDraw or Corel Paint or both?

For creating vector graphics of around 300 dpi would you use just CorelDraw? It says in the book that Corel Paint images are raster based and that CorelDraw 12 images are vector based.

I have purchased the book CorelDraw 12 the official guide along with a video called Mastering CorelDraw 12 and both are very helpful but the learning curve is not easy.

If you have used something other then the above mentioned products please let me know what worked for you.

Jim Hill

dclet

CorelDRAW! and CorelPhotoPAINT! is all you'll ever need. I use both.

I also use Adobe Photoshop occasionally..but never really got use to the interface...I have 2 brothers that are adobe "sheep" and I showed them how easy some things in Corel can be done compared with adobe products even they were impressed....especially with the transparency effects

I generally start in draw, add effects in Corel photopaint. You can go back an forth very quickly. You'll find CorelDRAW! & PhotoPaint up to the challenge.

You can even cut vinyl straight from corel. - no plug in needed and it works quite well.

I have used corel since ver 1.3

For final output (printing anyway) you will want convert everything to a bmp - tiff, eps, jpg etc....

Some tuts here
with more corel content coming soon.

Last edited:

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.