• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

critique my work - The Vector Doctor

The Vector Doctor

Chief Bezier Manipulator
I usually do not take these jobs on, but this was a special circumstance. The customer was very straightforward on their expectations. I don't like doing these because they are subjective and I never know what someone expects the final file to look like. This is a job in which if you sent it to 10 different companies/artists you would likely get 10 very different versions. I don't want to be the one that they don't like

I am a perfectionist and tracing logos usually requires little back and forth communication and very little interpretation is needed

So this is my FIRST try at this type of work. The customer was very happy.

What do you think and what would you pay for this job? Your answers will determine if I should consider doing more of these

Attachments

• vectorface.jpg
    vectorface.jpg
    58.7 KB · Views: 176
  • face.jpg
    face.jpg
    173 KB · Views: 134

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
If you did 1,000 of them on a commercial theme, you'd have the contents of a best selling clipart collection.

artbot

taper the outside border (left) of his face allowing negative space to enter the cheek area and forehead line. it will give the vector a sense of having a highlight. it's too bold and of one single width. and the brow line is too low. even if you traced it vector, it doesn't allow the shadow in the nape of the nose to breath.

Circleville Signs

I think the only thing you missed is the hair. This young man is Caucasian. The hair in the vector appears to be more African-American.