• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Customer won't pay !! What would you do?

jiarby

It is indeed a criminal offense! Just casually file a complaint with the sherriff and the district atty.

20+ years ago I bounced a check for $5.36 to a grocery store. I was a poor college student and thought I had the money. I was 30¢ short and the check was refused (adding a $30 NSF charge at the bank). Then the store added a $25 NSF fee.

Now I was going to have to have $60ish to make the $5 check clear. I didn't have it ($60 was almost 20hrs of wages that wouldn't come for two more weeks!). The store presented it to the bank a week later. Still had a negative balance. The check bounced again. Another $30 NFS at the bank. Now I am WAAY upside down and there was no way I could come up with $100 to clear this $5 check.

After the second NSF the store said I had to pay them in person in cash. The bank closed my account because it had a negative balance too long. The bank filed for collections to get their $75ish, which added even more collections fees.

I never did go pay the store the $30ish.

About a year later I got a letter from the County Atty. and had to appear in court in 30 days. I ended up getting a deferred ajudication (at least I thought so).... they gave me 30 days to pay the check and the fees, and the court costs (now close to $150, just for the store not including the bank charges).

In 30 days I had it all paid, but I had to really scramble and scrape. Went back to court and they accepted the payment and I was done.

By the time it was finished I spent well over $250, plus several trips to "downtown"... was fingerprinted and photographed, and somehow ended up with a misdemeanor bad check thing on my record.