• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cut Vinyl vs. Printing

Breezy85

Hey folks. I have a question and want to get some other opinions on this.

What's the longevity comparison of regular cut vinyl on a sign versus printing/laminating?

I've been working at a place for a few months that does lots of cut vinyl, multiple colors for signs instead of printing. It drives me crazy because some of the stuff is very intricate and a pain in the rear end to compile it all together onto the sign. Some colors, I get because you can't print metallic colors or other specialized vinyl colors. But for basic stuff, it's rather annoying. Then when I accidentally have a screwed up letter or something because it was so intricate that I need the designer to recut it, there's more material being used rather than having it printed so I'm not weeding it. I've previously spent a good half of my day working on one order because it was 6 signs, 3 different color vinyls.

Nobody listens to me when I tell them it would save labor time if it was printed. They'll either say, "no it's not better," or "it looks better," or "it lasts longer." So I'd like to turn to you guys for some input, because I'm contemplating going to the boss about ways to save on production/labor time and get the same quality on the signs.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide