• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cutting Help on Versacamm...

thesignguy1986

Okay so I am new to Roland and always been a Mimaki user but am finding it difficult to get the Versacamm 540 I to cut correctly. I've read up a lot on the cut calibration and though I haven't done it yet is because my machine will cut just fine if I only do a line or 2 of items. Today I went to cut 60 stickers and once and it fit in a 50 x 50" area but is completely way off. I notice though my machine is tracking something awful and didn't know what I can do to fix it. Please shoot over ideas and thanks

rjssigns

Did you square your material prior to loading? Relying on the sheet cut function does not give a perfect 90 degree angle. Wife ruined a batch of decals figuring the sheet cut "trued" the material. Nope, it just cuts a straight line. Not a perpendicular line to the edge. I got out my big square and found the material 9/16" of an inch out after repeated passes.

Check your outer pinch rollers they could be worn. (they are beveled and have a left and right when replacing)
Outer pinch roller rubber may have come loose from the inner wheel.
Might be a bad headboard.
Could be a loose cable.
Clean the encoder strip(this tells the carriage where it is)

We have ours dialed in pretty well, but it still cuts like poo after about 4 feet. Print and cut it does quite well. Print/lam/cut well...it sucks. Anything over 4 feet you're asking way too much of it.
Take the time to look up the tracking specs you'll see what I mean. They are terrible at best.
Summa is in our future.

thesignguy1986