Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cutting sandblast mask

Discussion in 'Dimensional Signs' started by amy s., Jul 29, 2016.

1. amy s.

amy s. Member

Dec 11, 2009
    Missouri
    So, what's the best way to cut mask now? I've been using an old 4b for 20 years and it works great.....is the sprocket fed still the best way?

Tags:
  2. ChaseO

ChaseO Member

May 3, 2012
    I'm not familiar with the 4b, but I'm assuming it is an old plotter? Anyway, I cut the ask with a friction fed plotter, 60 degree blade and it cuts no problem. I will say the mask that I have bought in the last 10 years or so from Hartco is thinner than the mask that dad used to buy. The thinner mask is easier to work with in every aspect, and I haven't had any issues with it, but that is also blasting HDU that goes a little quicker than wood.

3. BillyBoy86

BillyBoy86 Member

May 26, 2015
    South Heights, PA
    i use a friction fed plotter also.
    i think i use the thickest hartco material, but a 60 blade and slow speed usually works well.
    i don't get super detailed with any of that though, but most of my blasting is done into stone,

4. tbullo

tbullo Superunknown

Apr 5, 2012
    VA
    We use anchor mask here. I still hand cut large letters, borders and plotter cut my small text.

5. amy s.

amy s. Member

Dec 11, 2009
    Missouri