• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Daughter's College Art Project

Arlo Kalon 2.0

My daughter is in a digital graphics class in college. She had an assignment to create a vintage looking poster.

Awhile back, I did a series of interior decor signs where I put myself into the shoes of a rural signpainter who was self taught. I created a series of hand painted ads for a fictitious bluegrass music concert. My daughter selected this one and had me pose as if I was painting this. I like her project. Whadda you think?

Attachments

• Poster.jpg
    Poster.jpg
    75.7 KB · Views: 97

WrapperX

It looks like some of the lighting and perspectives of the sign you are painting don't match with the surrounding images. It looks too obviously photoshopped. The paint brushes on the side are clearly clone stamped - maybe try using some of her own photo elements. Maybe have her take her own photos of the brushes, mix them up over the course of a couple photos and then use those. They seem way to stock image like.
The Old School Sign Painting text is dull and with out umph. I know its meant to be vintagy but the use is just not bringing anything to the piece. And as one of my old Art Professors always told me, "If its not bringing something to your piece, then its probably taking something away from it"
Don't mean to be harsh...

WrapperX

How vintagey does she wanna go? She should referance old posters from the late 1800's and early 1900's for truely vintage classic graphic design and poster looks. Thats when the age of hand made posters were where it was at. They were the professional poster creators.

Arlo Kalon 2.0