• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Design Software To Sign Software

peavey123

Hey everyone, I am looking for some feedback on workflows from Adobe to Flexi or signlab etc? If you use this software what file format do you require?

I have been designing for over ten years, signs, wraps, print products, tradeshow etc. It's very rare I ever have issues with my files BUT it's becoming an issue since recently I've been designing for multiple sign shops. They use Flexi or signlab and insist on me sending flattened raster images as final output files. Which equals huge file sizes and other downfalls. Is this right?

Normally I design in illustrator. I edit raster images in Photoshop and link them in illustrator for easy updating. Then for final output I embed all images, outline fonts and strokes and save out as an EPS or PDF. When opened in signlab or Flexi things get crazy. Missing images, colour issues etc. What's up with these programs? Why don't they play nice with standard design applications? Any help would be great.

Thanks,
Peav

Oroscoe

I don't see where you are doing anything wrong. My shop uses FlexiSign and also design in Illustrator and photoshop. WE don't seem to have any issues importing EPS or PDF files. We also use raster graphics for offset printing and vector for signs and shirts and haven't had any issues. Sounds like some of these shops may not be very well versed in their software.

oksigns

Hey everyone, I am looking for some feedback on workflows from Adobe to Flexi or signlab etc? If you use this software what file format do you require?