• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Digital printing.

Hi I am new here and new to digital printing. I have been working with vinyl for about 15 years. I make construction road signs as my full time job, and bought myself a little cutter and started a side business. As I started to get more work, I wanted to get into digital printing as there isn't much competition in my area. I only do this in the evenings and weekends and was on a very limited budget. I bought a new cutter vinyl express from signwarehouse, but couldn't justify the price of a new printer. So I bought a used encad. I know I should have waited but I didn't. I paid under 2,000 for a vinyljet 36 with low print hours. I figured it would get me by until I could afford a better machine. I am mostly doing race cars, stickers, and truck doors. I was tired of layering all of those giant race car numbers. Well I am lost with this printer, and for Encad to send someone out the cost is 275.00 for travel and 205.00 per hr. labor. My question is should I bite the bullet and get some onsite help? The printer starts up, and runs but the colors do not seem to be mixing correctly. It isn't printing yellow at all. I put a new yellow cartridge in and it is doing the same thing. Like I said I know nothing about digital printing and I am trying to learn on the fly. The black is doing the same. Any ideas? Also is there a company is the central Pa. region that I could look too for training and maintenance. I know this thread is rambling but I am at a loss. Any help is appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

Checkers

I'm in central pa and know a fair amount about encad printers. I'll only charge ya $200 for travel and $185 an hour for labor :)