• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Do I need to transfer tape?

skyhigh

I have to apply a 5.5" stripe on a vehicle, using oracal 751. What are my chances of applying this without transfer tape? I was figuring on using a 6" wide felt squeegie.

Sorry for the "dumb" question (for you pro vinyl appliers).....I usually Transfer tape everything, unless its something like a 1" border stripe.

:thankyou:

Kottwitz-Graphics

I would. It would prevent the vinyl from stretching too much, plus it will keep any scratches to a minimum.

Anything over a couple of inches and I mask it.

AAA Graphics

This is my first time posting, although I read the Q&A all the time. When I stripe Vehicles, I use the wet apply method without transfer tape.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
I don't think there's a right or wrong answer. I believe it's whatever you feel comfortable doing. 5.5" by how long ?? That might help factor in.

I personally, would probably not use any, but I know I've already used it. It really depends on conditions and how much extra vinyl you have in case you screw it up. Try it both ways and decide what you like and make it your own.

wes70

As Gino stated, it really depends on the length. I find anything over 6' will stretch or skew off if there is no transfer tape.

HulkSmash

I don't think there's a right or wrong answer. I believe it's whatever you feel comfortable doing. 5.5" by how long ?? That might help factor in.

I personally, would probably not use any, but I know I've already used it. It really depends on conditions and how much extra vinyl you have in case you screw it up. Try it both ways and decide what you like and make it your own.

this.

And i wouldn't do it wet.

skyhigh

This is what I'm doing.....