• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Eco-Solvent Ink Material for Epson 80600

Cee84

Hi everyone!

Newbie Here :)

I'm currently working as a prototype technician at a floral business and am in need of advice in choosing print material. We have two large format printers in house, an 36" Roland UV printer and a new Epson S80600. I've been tasked with setting up the Epson and am in need of a material that will be a sustainable option in comparison to the material used by the Roland UV.

That UV machine uses a variety of clear, pearlescent, and matte BOPP (as well as kraft paper) while the Epson is currently only running a clear-poly glossy film from Chromaspec (Jetcomp films). 100' of this clear-poly material is costing over $1000. The BOPP used for the UV comes from china and the cost is extremely low.

The OG printer I work alongside with is opposed to the new machine and tells me nothing else works on it, I find that hard to believe so I am coming here for advice/opinions.

The main criteria for a new substrate is affordability, and has to be approx 1.6 mil clear film. Down the road I would need to find suitable kraft, matte, and pearlized material too.

I have tried reaching out to our vendor but he only steers me to his Jetcomp films. Is there any other material that will work for the Epson with eco-solvent ink? Can someone point me in the right direction here? :D My background is in graphic design and this is a new career path I am starting. Any info is greatly appreciated. Thank you all for your time.

SignMeUpGraphics

Super Active Member
Our S80600 prints on literally everything we've thrown into it so far. It barely needs profiling between media types but we still do an individual one as we start to stock it.