Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help Edge Cap & 3MM ACM

Discussion in 'General Signmaking Topics' started by AVS, Nov 1, 2018.

1. AVS

AVS New Member

Oct 4, 2018
    Western Mass
    Hello All,

I am completely new to new to making signs, I've only done vehicle graphics up to this point. I want to give my 3mm ACM sign a finished edge. So I bought some edge cap but they only had 1/4 inch. Am I missing something? It doesn't want to fit snug (obviously) on the 3MM. Am I supposed to be using a thicker panel or laying the ACM on another sheet of material? I know the corners should be mitered and the material mounted with silicone, but can't find any more info.

This is for a 30 x 76 inch flat sign that will be face mounted flat onto a brick wall.

Appreciate any and all advice!

Tags:
  2. Pixels Are Bad Mmmkay?

Pixels Are Bad Mmmkay? Very Active Member

Try Grimco. We get both 3mm and 6mm edge cap in both white and black. However, our Grimco branch is in Springfield, Illinois, the same town where Nudo products are made and they might just order the edge cap from Nudo. It wouldn't hurt to call them and see if your local branch carries both sizes.

3. 2B

2B Very Active Member

May 5, 2011
    TX
    another option is to edge wrap with the vinyl.
    This allows the background color of the design to be the edge of the sign.
    we like to place 3+ inches per side onto the backside for good adhesion

4. equippaint

equippaint Very Active Member

Oct 10, 2014
    Florida
    I wouldn't trim it. It's an economy material and should be sold as such.

• Disagree Disagree x 1
  5. Christian @ 2CT Media

Christian @ 2CT Media Major Contributor

Jun 15, 2009