• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Edge Cap & 3MM ACM

AVS

Hello All,

I am completely new to new to making signs, I've only done vehicle graphics up to this point. I want to give my 3mm ACM sign a finished edge. So I bought some edge cap but they only had 1/4 inch. Am I missing something? It doesn't want to fit snug (obviously) on the 3MM. Am I supposed to be using a thicker panel or laying the ACM on another sheet of material? I know the corners should be mitered and the material mounted with silicone, but can't find any more info.

This is for a 30 x 76 inch flat sign that will be face mounted flat onto a brick wall.

Appreciate any and all advice!

Try Grimco. We get both 3mm and 6mm edge cap in both white and black. However, our Grimco branch is in Springfield, Illinois, the same town where Nudo products are made and they might just order the edge cap from Nudo. It wouldn't hurt to call them and see if your local branch carries both sizes.

2B

another option is to edge wrap with the vinyl.
This allows the background color of the design to be the edge of the sign.
we like to place 3+ inches per side onto the backside for good adhesion

AVS

This is a good idea. The only thing is I'm using factory painted black ACM with cut vinyl for the graphic, but I suppose I could use some black vinyl around the edge to finish it. Thanks for the suggestion!

another option is to edge wrap with the vinyl.
This allows the background color of the design to be the edge of the sign.
we like to place 3+ inches per side onto the backside for good adhesion

2B

Do you get edge lifting on the plastic?

In the beginning, they were some. once we changed, all is going well
  • use tension to make sure a good tight fit when wrapping around to the back side