• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

EDGE printing on fluo vinyl problem

bigben

I'm still new to print with my EDGE. Here is my setup: Gerber EDGE 2, omega 6, OEM black and white foils, oracal 6510 fluo vinyl. I'm using the fluo vinyl in omega. If I print my black color over the white, I have print problem (see picture below). But if I print white over the black, there is no problem but I need to print 2 pass of white to have a good color. No matter if I put the black in overprint or not, I have the same result. I've printed smaller decals with the black over the white and I did not have any problem.

What am I doing wrong?

Attachments

• edge1.jpg
    edge1.jpg
    114.1 KB · Views: 343

bigben

I also have this problem from time to time even if I print my white over the black. Is it because the vinyl have a contamination of some sort?

Attachments

• edge2.jpg
    edge2.jpg
    123.3 KB · Views: 287

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
It looks to me like you have a conflict between the black foil and the fluorescent vinyl. I've had similar issues with Oracal films ... especially when printing with black foil. Your easiest solution would be to bring in a roll of fluorescent foil and print the job on white vinyl.

Billct2

In some of those photos the vinyl looks pockmarked, may just be the vinyl. I use Gerber fluorescents when printing, but it can still be tricky. I usually do a prime coat for everything except black, which I do a double hit on. Fred's suggestion of printing the Fluoro is a good idea.

bigben