Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Electro Pounce

Discussion in 'General Signmaking Topics' started by RiXaX, Sep 16, 2018.

1. RiXaX

RiXaX Member

Aug 17, 2004
    Mendocino, CA
    When I was an apprentice there were a couple shops I visited and did a few jobs in that had electric perforators they made with neon transformers and rheostats. Does anyone remember more exacting details of how this was done?

Tags:
  2. Kottwitz-Graphics

Kottwitz-Graphics Very Active Member

Sep 25, 2006
    Ridgely, MD
    I don't remember a rheostat, but I do remember it was a sheet of sheet metal mounted on a frame. One of the transformer homeruns is mounted to the sheet, and the other is wired into an hand held plastic "pen" with a pointed metal end. The pattern was held on with magnets and you would use wooden rulers to make the straight lines. It more or less burned small holes in the paper...

Out of curiosity, why the interest in an old pounce machine? You can still get pounce wheels. I even have a couple in a tool box somewhere.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Billct2

Billct2 Major Contributor

Mar 12, 2005
    New England
    I don't remember seeing any homemade ones, just the commercially available ones. Always hated them, but they were efficient for doing large patterns.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. unclebun

unclebun Very Active Member

We used a commercially made one. Worked way better than a wheel, but it sure was fun when you accidentally leaned against the metal backer...

• Like Like x 1
  5. studio 440

studio 440 Member

Jul 19, 2010
    cali