• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Embroidery software

phototec

I'm just getting into embroidery and looking for software so I can create my own digitized dst files. I see the software run the full spectrum from $99 to $3000 plus.

Looking to spend up to $500, does anyone have experience with digitizing software in this price range and can point me in the right direction?

Thanks for any and all info that will help me make the right decision.

WildWestDesigns

$500 is consumer level software and with the ability to digitize as such.

Top of the line commercial without playing the trade up/trade in game runs $15k

$3k is your entry level commercial grade.

Roughly mind you and not playing any trade up/trade in game.

Personally even an entry level Wilcom version (this company is the gold standard in digitizing software) would be better then getting a home version. If you are able to think outside of the box, capable of doing more then one would think as well, but it won't be automated, like blends etc.

I've been involved with an open source extension for Inkscape that does some really great things, but it still has some work to equal to those $3k on up as far as options go. But it certainly does better then a lot of consumer grade software out there. It's getting there, just takes time.

It would really help to know what you are wanting to do as to if $500 is going to be feasible. Beyond just creating DST files in of itself, how much ability do you want etc?

Last edited: