• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Epson GS 6000 advise

lerscom

Hi everyone I´m buying the epson gs6000 printer whit the Colorbust ripper, any advise, I’m new in the wide format solvent printer and planning to expand the business thanks .

jayhawksigns

Mike will tell you like he sees it. Convinced me to look elsewhere because of our workflow, that printer isn't made for everybody.

Letterbox Mike

haha, it's true...

It's an okay machine, seriously, just not if you intend to put any high production demands on it. It does print beautifully, really beautifully, but physically running it has proven to be a bottleneck for us, and it's not engineered well. The media feed and takeup leave more than a little to be desired. We've also had a lot of things break that otherwise shouldn't.

We're also learning that it's extremely sensitive to profiles, good profiles make all the difference in the world. Technically this is true for any printer, but it seems to be significantly more so for the GS6000.

It's also expensive to run. I expected this since it's an 8-color machine, but truthfully I don't feel like the extended color gamut (which isn't that much bigger than a good profile will net you on a 4-color machine) is worth the expense. The good news is a little birdie told me Triangle is working on a new inkset for it, which will help both reduce costs and increase durability over the OEM ink.

It is what it is. Some people really love this printer, it may be a perfect fit for your needs. We got a lemon and my view of the printer is a less than positive one. But that doesn't necessarily mean it's a bad printer or bad for you.

GoodPeopleFlags