• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Exceedingly dumb question, re: temp files

threeputt

Ok, can anyone say for sure, if it's absolutely safe to dump any file with the extension .tmp? Doing some housecleaning and can't be sure.

I know, I know, it's probably a dumb question, but I'm a rookie on some things.

Techman

dump them all.
not needed..
usually they are constructed when you install software, but tmp files are not needed.

threeputt

Thanks techman, I was a little concerned. Some of them date back a couple of years, and are entitled like Set1A.tmp or Set8.tmp and I have no idea what that is.

I try and dump .tmp files regularly if I know what they are. (a downloaded movie, internet stuff or whatever)

mediaman

I have ccleaner on one computer - the IT guys at work warn against it deleting needed files such as software authorization codes, license info, etc. Can anyone tell me if this could present a problem or is ccleaner safe (or necessary)? Is there a better way to clean the temp folder other than manually?

Shovelhead

I run CCleaner

I have ccleaner on one computer - the IT guys at work warn against it deleting needed files such as software authorization codes, license info, etc. Can anyone tell me if this could present a problem or is ccleaner safe (or necessary)? Is there a better way to clean the temp folder other than manually?

and my computer runs smooooooooooothhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

WhiskeyDreamer

Professional Snow Ninja
not sure the name of the program, but we ran a cleaner program on one of our older PCs.....ended up having to uninstall and reinstall norton cause it deleted much needed files for norton to run...