• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New Guy Extreme Newbie - Questions on Mimaki JV3-160sp

Cabbage Baron

Hi there folks!

Newbie here. Just thought I'd introduce myself.

I'm totally new to large format digital printing - as far as actually running the machines. But I've been a graphic designer for 15+ years, worked pre-press at a printing company (all sheet-fed and web presses), and my current job deals with some screen printing and vinyl cutting - for which I prepare the files and often troubleshoot the machines.
I'm not afraid to dig in and take things apart if necessary, but would rather do the least invasive fix possible...which requires knowing what the fixes are for certain problems!

I recently acquired a Mimaki JV3-160sp.
Yep, it's old, and it shows. But it works pretty well, and I hope to keep it that way.
I also got the computer it was running off - a Win XP box with FlexiSIGN-PRO 10.5.1
Also old, but free!

First question: How do you fix mis-registration? Or is it called something else with inkjet technology? Is it all based on how clean the print heads are, or is there any "head alignment" that can be done?
If there's already a thread somewhere about this, feel free to point me in the right direction, because I haven't found it. Maybe I'm using the wrong terms to search.

Thanks!
KR

HaleYeah