• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Few questions about SC 545EX

Spud

What's most people running for their profiles? Just wondering i'm still learning alot about the color profiles and such.. Anyone know of a site to really learn about color profiles, etc - maybe be in conjunction with flexi?

Also, RIPing - anything to make it faster? Is it more dependable on the computer or is there anything that can make it faster? Sometimes smaller files RIP longer on high quality then bigger size files on artistic. weird!

I'm using versaworks, have a p4 with 1 gig of ram, 256 graphics card (not sure which one) and some other goodies...

any suggestions?

ChiknNutz

Profiling is a difficult task to master, and I know very little about it. The widely suggested method is to have a professional walk you thru it, on-site, which is expensive to do. Another site, printingdigital.net, has lots of good info on the subject. The guy 'eye4clr' is the resident expert on profiling. I, too, would like to learn a lot more about this, but it sounds like learning on your own can be painful and time-consuming.

2GB RAM would help, but the most significant improvement is the fastest processor you can afford/justify. Having a separate RIP-only computer is also recommended, though certainly not a requirement.

Spud

Yeah I figured having a separate computer for RIPing would be ideal - but doubt it'll be feasible here.. ugh!

Yeah so i've heard about profiling - i've learned ALOT the past 8 months, but nothing near what is out there. I'm sure there is alot of research and trial and error through the process which I haven't had time lately to try...

I'll check out the site i'm sure there's tons of info there that could help.

threeputt