• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

First 3D letter sign, How to attach?

J

john1

Have a quote request for a flat panel sign with 3D letters popping off the sign a few inches.

I applied for a Gemini account today but it has t been activated yet.

What is the best way to attach the letters to let's say dibond substrate?

I am guessing silicone or something?

Sign size is 8x3.5' and is going into the side of a building.

Thanks!

Jillbeans

If you get the letters from Gemini make sure the get a pattern from them too. I'd stud mount from the rear as well as use silicone.
(not that I'm an expert, once was enough for me)
Love....Jill

PGSigns

If you On Gemini's web site and under sign components you will find mounting supplies. Most everything is listed there. I would stud mount them through the Dibond if it does not have to be flush with the building. The template that Jill suggested is a huge help and a time saver.
Jimmy

J

john1

Thanks everyone, I have not a clue what stud mounting means or how to do it.

The sign will go up against the side of the building so it would need to be flush in the back.

PGSigns

The Gemini letters (plastic) come with mounting points made into them for studs to go into. You can use the threaded rod from these points and go through the dibond and put a nut on it. The template we have mentioned will come with the letter shapes printed on it properly kerned and also have the location of the mounting points marked on it so you can put the holes in the correct place. If you look in the hardware section you will see pads with studs sticking out of them. These are used to bond the letters to substraights.
Jimmy

Thanks everyone, I have not a clue what stud mounting means or how to do it.