• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help First time lamination problems

Lewis Roberts

Hi guys , new to the forum didn't know there were such great forums out there for this business ,i've been a designer for several years and recently ventured into printing the designs i produce, im having a few issues well mainly one with my laminator and hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

before anyone mentions it is yes a fairly cheap entry level laminator standard two roller design manual handle cranking. but it's all the funds can support at this time.

the main issue i have is when running material through especially when prints contain black they end up with slight streaks of darker black than others , almost like its been pressed more than the rest of the print but these streaks are only small and don't have any particular position or shape. Am i right thinking this is a pressure issue of some sort?

super thanks in advance

2B

There are MANY factors that can play into lamination
  • inconsistent pressure
  • inconsistent feed rate
  • warpped roller wheels
  • etc.

without a photo it is a guess to what is going on, that said the most common issue is called "SILVERING"
laminating pure black print

equippaint

Assuming its a manual table top type, when you tighten down the 2 handles/screws for the rollers, do them at the same time with both hands to try and feel that you have equal pressure. Get it snug then twist both equally a little more. Don't over tighten it. It sounds like you're putting too much pressure or its uneven. Might get some silvering too but it goes away in a day or so.
If its bigger, lower the upper roller until its basically just its weight on the lower, then tighten it just a hair more equally on each side.