• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Flex Face Install

AKProbeGT

I've been asked to quote my first flex face. I've never done one before but want to learn how. I've attached pictures of the current sign. Customer is asking us to replace both faces. It looks to me like I have to take the aluminum panels of the sides, top and bottom to be able to get access to all the tensioning hardware. Does that seem correct? Looks like we'll have to drill out all the rivets(aluminum so not too bad) and reinstall with rivets or screws. Does anyone recognize this tensioning system so I can look it up and gather more information. The current panels are blue/purple and red translucent vinyl. Is the same kind of vinyl used for face as a normal translucent? I was kind of surprised how nicely the vinyl was shaped over the corners but maybe that's just because it was tensioned well. I'm sure there will be a little bit of learning curve but any help or tips would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 2014-03-06_142119.jpg
    2014-03-06_142119.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 1,973
  • 2014-03-06_142144.jpg
    2014-03-06_142144.jpg
    31.4 KB · Views: 991
  • 2014-03-06_142444.jpg
    2014-03-06_142444.jpg
    55.4 KB · Views: 766
  • 2014-03-06_142457.jpg
    2014-03-06_142457.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 761
  • 2014-03-06_142959-1.jpg
    2014-03-06_142959-1.jpg
    30.9 KB · Views: 782
T

TonyC

I would....

I haven't seen or replaced a flex face with a system like that which tensioned on the inside. I believe you are correct; you will have to remove all the panels to replace the faces using the current system. Tensioning that system appears that it may be a nightmare to me.