• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Full Bleed Problem

Big Blue

Greetings Everyone, I am new to wide format printing, and the forum, but from what I can see this place is great for rescources, answers, and support info.
We run a Mimaki JV-3 160 sp. I am having problems with a 28" diameter logo that has been applied to a 3/4" thick piece of clear plex. It was printed on 3m trans white vinyl, 2 layers 6 passes. The print has been in the store for a couple months and now the vinyl is starting to peel at the edge of the plex. It was printed as a full bleed, and had to be double stroked so the image would not fade. Any ideas on a different media, or process.... We do not have a laminator, but simply apply a rolled on clear coat.... Again I am a newb, and will take on any criticism for a good answer.... Love the site hope to get some good feedback on my question.

Big Blue

Would a laminator solve my problem? I would think this would have happened before the print left the shop, not two months after the fact.

gabagoo

double strike with a bleed is a problem. Lots of ink. I dont know how long you waited before cutting the graphic but I know with my Mimaki I would have probably waited at least 2 or 3 days and maybe even longer if it were black. The solvent attacks the vinyl and starts shrinking. I suppose a lamination may have stopped the shrinkage, but the questionis "how long to wait before laminating"?

Big Blue

I think this particular job was a print, stick and ship job in one day.... will take this advise...man I am so glad to have found this forum, like I said I am a newb to this print world, and will have many questions to come....thanks for the replies

GB2

Old Member