• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Gerber Edge FX capabilities...

I have been thinking about purchasing an Edge FX for making decals. The decals would be used for R/C models such as planes, helicopters, cars and trucks.

My question is does this machine make good quality vinyl decals? Is there a better machine out there more suited to decal making?

And I believe I would also need a plotter in order cut the decals out, am I right?

Please help me out, I am new to this decal stuff.

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Yes the Edge FX is a logical choice for this application. It's not the highest resolution (300 x 600 dpi) but with its ability to also do spot colors and being thermal resin, yes it's a good choice.

You will need a matching 15" Gerber plotter and software to drive it. Software choices are Gerber Omega, SignLab with Thermal Module, or FlexiSign.

Other options include the Summa DC-x thermal line or any solvent or ecosolvent print and cut system. With inkjets, you will have a definite need for clear overlamination because of weak solvent resistance such as you'll encounter with RC fuels.

Is it true that the Edge can only print up to 4 colors in a design? I'm reading that it can only print up to 4 colors... That seems very limited to me...

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Is it true that the Edge can only print up to 4 colors in a design? I'm reading that it can only print up to 4 colors... That seems very limited to me...

No, not at all. I can recall jobs I've printed that used as many as 15 spot colors. You may be confusing yourself with the fact that the Edge also will print using 4 color process foils which will produce millions of colors by blending together percentages of Process Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and Black.