• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Getting started. Need help

GFX119

I am new to doing vinyl graphics/wraps but not new to design(mostly airbrushing). I want to design and print wraps for R/C vehicles. I would also like to do Motocross graphics number plates etc..
Would the New Roland BN-20 be good for this application? Gerber EDGE? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

CS-SignSupply-TT

The BN-20 is the new mini/desktop VersaCamm from Roland. Decal and MotoCross applications would do well on the BN-20. However, if you get into large quantities and quick turnaround the BN-20 will not do the job.

GFX119

From searching the forum I hear it is slow. Not really worried about that now but it could become an issue down the road.
Any Suggestions for other machines?
Roland SP-300?
Budget - looking at printers/cutters $15,000 and under
Lamination - I would imagine I would need to since the bodies takes some abuse but again I am new to this
Smallest size - Well Motocross graphics would be the largest application for now.
Room - Basement of my house.
Thanks for the help guys ;)

CRD

For the time being I would suggest to outsource your printing and lamination to see if it works at all.
Enough wholesales people here to help you to start.

I started to do model car wrapping a few years back and still outsource. :) Check Custom Racing Decal if you like to know what I do.

If you have the money then go for a Roland P&C version.
The BN20 will work but be aware the media to print on does not come in the witdh the BN20 supports. So you always have to cut the media to proper size.

Let me know your progress.

Paco

GFX119

Thanks alot for the info.
Checked your site out, nice work! That is pretty much exactly what I wanted to do.