• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Glueing Dibond

DizzyMarkus

After cutting the vgroove in the backside of my Dibond and folded -- Is there a glue that you use to adhere it ? Do you make small 45's for the inside corners? -- thanks for any finishing ideas

Markus

CanuckSigns

I attempted it once, never did find a glue strong enough to hold the v-groove closed, we ended up making a frame and using PL-9000 construction adhesive to adhere the dibond to the frame.

However, You can weld the plastic together with a hot air welder, but I have no experience with this.

CES020

Call Chemical Concepts in PA. They have products that will do it. You might have to glue something to it, like a metal angle bracket to the inside, rather than just gluing it to itself, but I've seen aluminum joined to aluminum just like you're talking about, and it was one heck of a bond. Enough so that places like SignComp had demos of their extrusions glued together with it.

I don't know the product name, but I do know it was Chemical Concepts.

Tell them what you're trying to do and they'll have the right solution.

nwsigns

Best to use angle aluminum to hold it together - along with Lords 406-19 or similar epoxy, stuff will not fail if used properly.

skyhigh

Agree on the epoxy (406-19).....but I have to wonder if we could offer better advice if we knew what exactly you were doing.
Maybe it was to simple of a question?> lol

Markus

First off, I personally (stress personally), would never bend dibond for a long term project. I'm racking my mind for any situation where bending dibond would be a preferred method. I'm coming up empty.

skyhigh

.............. ya don't say.