• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Graphic Design teacher help

mnbeef

Hello,
My Name is Mike McLain. I am a high school art teacher (10yrs) who just this year was hired at the Wright Technical Center to teach a graphic design tech ed high school class. The former graphic design program was a highly reputable program with the surrounding community. Using 2 off-set presses, a Heidelberg press and screen printing operations. The program has been on a 5 year hiatus and I am just now offering it to the surrounding high school students as a way to take a Tech Ed class and earn college credit at the same time. A few of my problems that I am currently having to deal with: 11 year old emac computers, adobe cs2, very limited budget ($5000) considering the upgrades we need. I'm working on writing grants that will help with funding but these are not a given. My wants: New PC computers (PC due to lower cost), CS6, Digital printer (production quality), possible printer for vinyl decal/sign production.

If you have any suggestions about hardware, software, other needs/wants, ways to acquire graphic design equipment for schools at a discount it would be very appreciated.

Thanks for the help, opinions and suggested are very welcome.

Mike McLain

JBusch260

As a suggestion, see if you can contact Adobe's sales reps for educational discounts, heck maybe even a donation trial program. That should leave a bit of room for your budget.

rjssigns