• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Graphtec ce5000-60 x positon alarm woes

midwestside

Hi all , Just joined and am new here.
I've got a graphtec cutter i've been on and off trying to fix for about a year.
Scouring the web for a solution. no dice, but some interesting leads.
I'm a hobbyist, so i've never really put the thing through the demands of daily use.

Just to start off I'm going to say it doesn't work, and then magically i turn it on one day and it will do test cuts , then boom next day its broken with the x position plague again.

As far as i know, pinch rollers are where they need to be, nothing is obstructing the roller that feeds the vinyl. I know how to reset the thing to default values, I know how to change the speed , etc.

I am working on the machine in isolation, not connected to any computer.

Here is the typical symptoms:
turn on the machine. I load the media.

case 1: roll1 setting. Sensor head goes all the way to the right, then moves left to read the vinyl area. After that head moves back to the right past the origin point. shoots the media out the front at hyperspeed and i get an x position alarm

case 2: roll 2 setting. Sensor head goes all the way to the right, then moves left to read the vinyl area. Then parks itself at an origin point. This makes it seem like roll2 setting works, however i go to press test cut, the rollers shoot the media out at hyperspeed and i get the x position alarm.

case 3: sheet. Sensor head goes all the way to the right, then moves left to read the vinyl area. After that head moves back to the right past the origin point. shoots the media out the front at hyperspeed and i get an x position alarm.