Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Greenhorn Here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ken Roberts, Apr 27, 2007.

1. Ken Roberts

Ken Roberts New Member

Apr 23, 2007
    Hi all,

I've recently jumped into the sign business not by intent but rather by opportunity stemming from my current business. I am a photographer and have a studio where I like to offer my clients items such as photo decals, auto tags, shirts, etc. I had been using the sign guy in the next town for these small projects, but he wasn't timely enough in his turnaround since he had much larger jobs to complete. I have always sent him business in years past since the only sign man here is an artist who paints signs by hand so the market is wide open. I purchased a PrismJet (Mutoh) 38" printer and a Vinyl Express Q100 to fulfill my photographic needs and soon learned this equipment was capable of so much more. So now I'm entering the sign business. I've been spending much time with tech support over at Sign Warehouse about various issues. I didn't have the ink heaters on at first so the ink was pooling up on my media. I'm having two problems with my cutter. One is a weeding problem since there are small snags due to incomplete cuts causing major headaches when weeding. The other problem is getting the cutter to recognize the registration marks on the media for contour cuts. I keep getting a read port error. So I'm still working on these issues.

Anyway, I'm grateful to have found this forum where a wealth of knowledge seems to reside.

Ken Roberts
    Waynesboro, Ms.
    www.robertstown.net

Tags:
  2. TC49010

TC49010 Active Member

Jan 19, 2005
    :Welcome:

3. Pro Image