Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hand painting Acrylic with metallic gold paint

Discussion in 'Hand Made Signs' started by signpost-boston, Nov 2, 2012.

1. signpost-boston

signpost-boston Making America great, one sign at a time.

Jul 18, 2010
    Boston, Ma.
    total virgin here.
    i have no experience painting this. not every nice customer wants to cause finger arthritis.
    So, any ideas for painting Routed Acrylic lettering with either, 23k gold? gold leaf? or metallic gold? (hobby paint?) lol.
    the sign is 9x40 inches, so its not too big.....
    i know the "time x labor x drinks " formula, but what about Marketing?
    :rock-n-roll:

Tags:
  2. CanuckSigns

CanuckSigns Very Active Member

Nov 11, 2008
    Ontario
    are you asking how to do it or how to price it?

3. Jillbeans

Jillbeans Major Contributor

Dec 24, 2003
    Butler, PA
    Need more details.
    Will this be interior or exterior?
    Do you know how to gild?
    etc etc
    I would not use hobby paint.
    Nothing equals real gold but if you've never gilded it's an expensive lesson.
    I myself like Kemp's Permagild for certain applications but Ronan Aqua Leaf is OK (needs several coats)
    1Shot metallic gold can actually tarnish and is a pain to use (must be stirred constantly)
    What about car paint?
    Love.....Jill

4. CanuckSigns

CanuckSigns Very Active Member

Nov 11, 2008
    Ontario
    When the customers budget didn't allow for gold leaf, I've used Krylon bright gold spray paint, I was actually very impressed with the finished look, to the untrained eye, it looked like gold, and is still holding up great 6 years later.

5. Edna

Edna Member

Oct 9, 2012