• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Heat assist or cold roll

Warhog42

Looking to update my laminator to a roll to roll laminator. I do mostly vehicle graphics.
Looking at a royal sovereign. Dealer thinks cold would be fine and I save 2k. But hate to buy one and feel like 2 years I need heat.
Thoughts ?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

papabud

Lone Wolf
i use a heat assisted one and it helps a lot. somethings needs the heat turned off. others it helps lay down nice and smooth.
i feel like its a value added feature even if you only rarely use it.

rjssigns

Not sure is this will help. I run a Royal Sovereign cold laminator in the shop and at school. Both are solid performers. Can't comment on the heat aspect as I have no experience. No issues with silvering, but I run both at speed 1.

Active Sign

Sign Guy
We've been running a cold Royal for the past 5 years with no issues. We had a heated GBC before and rarely used the heat. If you have the money get the nicer one.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bly

We have low heat on our Seal but with wrap lam it's really not needed.
Doesn't make much difference on cheaper films either to be honest.

Reveal1

Looking to update my laminator to a roll to roll laminator. I do mostly vehicle graphics.
Looking at a royal sovereign. Dealer thinks cold would be fine and I save 2k. But hate to buy one and feel like 2 years I need heat.
Thoughts ?