• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello All! 1st Week w/Mimaki JF1631

akalvarez

As the title says we just got a Mimaki flatbed. I am new to the flatbed printing world so I am problably going to have a lot of questions. I have read some of your post and I know that I do not have the greatest flatbed in the world, but it's the one we have. The Tech came in and set it up spent a day and a half training and left me to my own device's. We are a Sign Company and we are still leaning what we can do with this machine. I understand the basics of of using a flatbed but I want to learn as much as I can and make my company as profitable as possible. I have about 13 years experince in digital printing. I started out on the electrostatic Xerox 8954 Series 1 Cactus machine and have ran just about everything in between up to the Roland SC-540. If you also have the JF-1631 please chime in.

SignManiac

Good luck with your new flatbed. I looked at the same machine you have. The print samples were excellent even if it's not the fastest. Be sure and do your routine maintenance. Flatbeds can be quite temperamental. I hope it meets your expectations.

akalvarez

So I am the only one on here that has one of these machines? Well after you get over the intimidation factor and talk to the tech's (not the sales people, ha,) this thing is not to bad. I admit I have already witnessed the limitations of the cartridges but I am confident I can make this puppy sing. Next goal I am setting is to get a spectrometer and start making my own profiles.

Junkie