• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello from Australia

you design

Hi guys and girls :)

I am relatively new to the sign and printing game and so far loving it. Not to say it has been an easy ride so far, it has been very challenging to say the least. An opportunity came up to purchase a used Roland VP-540 and I jumped on it. I had to work 3 months straight laboring without a day off 5am-5pm just to get this machine.

I think its safe to say I wanted to get into this industry big time! Once I finally paid for the machine and had it all installed at my home then the real fun begun :) No one told me about color profiles, media profiles and all the other fun things that go with it. So here I am 8 months later spending weekends, mornings, nights learning as much as I can possibly learn to get this as near perfect as possible.

From the get go I had problems with banding, over spray, and disconnection issues. I had experts look into it and tell me they have never encountered the particular characteristics I was experiencing which made it more difficult to resolve. Finally 90% of the problems are gone, I am replacing the black head in 1 hour which should be fun.

I am new to this site and already I can see how helpful this experience is going to be, I read the Newbie post from the administrator talking about new people in the sign industry thinking they know everything. I myself and happy to learn from the helpful criticism so feel free to correct me if I am wrong as the reason why I am on here is not to sit back in my chair pretending to be something I am not and that is a master sign writer or printer. I am here to become one!