• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

hello from colorado

flyingsignmonkey

Hi all, my name is tom ive been in the sign biz for about 30 years. im 42. I started in my dads small old school style lettering shop he started out of his home. he's 79 and he still gets jobs lettering signs and he does it with one eye! he lost one to gluacoma a year and a half ago.

ive been living out west for a long time now around 15 years. ive allways worked for other companies. im a pretty experienced crane operator (85' skyhooks mostly) channel letter installer, cabinets and raceways, painter, welder, vinyl plotter operator and I spent a couple years in a sign shop art dept doing layouts for the salesmen, for a large co.

in the last year ive started getting tired of a few things that I believed were wrong with the management of the shop I was at real bad things and started realizing I did not want to work for anyone else if I had to leave them. so I decided it was time to start thinking of my own shop. I came across a used aerial truck at a great price. the gentleman who owned it had had a terrible accident and was restricted to a desk. he sold me the truck and virtually gave me several thousand dollars worth of installation and service materials like ballasts, transformers lamps gto, flex.