• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello from Yuma, AZ

Mbookamer

I have experience in construction and woodworking beginning when I helped build our family home in the 3rd grade. As a third generation carpenter, I was introduced to wood carving and sign design just after high school by a mentor - a sign carver/graphic artist and now web designer in Central Pa.

As a job superintendant for a small construction company I developed my love of wood carving and developed an interest in fine woodworking. When the new owner of our company ran out of money after a year, I struck out on my own building cabinets and furniture starting with my former employer's clients.

My business was a success in that it made a profit and developed a loyal and happy clientele. After several years it became apparent that I was not ideally suited to running a business at the scale that I had grown it to and was much more comfortable in the days when I did smaller, quicker turnover projects like signs, plaques, carvings, etc. This realization, and the fact that were planning to sell our house, timed out well for an opportunity to play out our dream of travel nursing with my wife and daughter. I was to use this time being a stay at home dad to figure out what I wanted to be when I grow up.

After two years of circling the country, we settled in Yuma Arizona. My oldest is now in kindergarten and her little brother was just born in September.

When I started a business in central PA, I did not consider the sign business for two big reasons. I had experience, and an eager client base ready and waiting for me to work for them. The other reason was that although he would never have openly objected, I did not feel right starting a business and competing with my mentor.