• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello Sign World!

apic

Hello Sign World! Another newbie here from Florida.

We invested heavily into a 45 mm Olfa cutter and found 5 feet of red scrap vinyl, so we are in the sign business. :smile:

Seriously: We have a custom t-shirt design and a manufacturing company now. We do DTG printing, apparel vinyl, rhinestone embellishment and embroidery, using a rhinestone placement robot, a Brother DTG printer, a Tajima embroidery machine and a Roland cutter. We do pretty well, especially with the DTG and the rhinestone shirts.

The sign business is totally new for us but we decided to jump head first anyway because our customers continuously requested banners, posters from us using our own custom t-shirt designs and/or their logos or messages. We needed an eco-solvent printer anyway for dark shirt heat transfers, so we ended up purchasing a Roland VS-640. A smaller printer-cutter would have been enough for the t-shirt heat transfers but it would have been too small for other purposes. The VS-640 is a great printer however. It seems that we will have no problem in the field of printed sign design; we use Photoshop, Illustrator, CorelDraw, Wilcom, VersaWorks, etc. every day, but we are totally lost in the fields of sign substrates, installation, pricing, etc.. Of course we do our homework diligently, learning as fast as we can about the different vinyl, paper, canvas and other special substrates but the devil is always in the details.