• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello there

Chuck Peterson

Hi, my name is Chuck Peterson. I am now semi-retired (until I think of a better term for it, I'm only 53) after 22 years making signs on my own. I started out working in the paint dept at Cal Neon in San Diego back in the 70's paintin Jack in the Box clown heads and stuff. Then I wandered lost in jobs I hated for a few years until 1983 I started painting signs on my own. I spent the last 15 years or so in Cardiff by the Sea, California. This past January I sold my home and business there and now live in Prescott, Arizona. I got a Gerber 4B, which I still have, in the late 80's, got an Edge around '97. Did lots of sandblated signs, vehicle lettering etc. I started developing an allrgy to most paint fumes in the early 90s and had to quit using 1 shot, etc. I actually discovered a lot of materials and techniques I never would have had I not been forced to. I have every issue of SignCraft since the beginning in 1980 when I was starting to teach myself to letter. It was pretty cool to read about myself in there a couple of times, even though I know my work is not in the same league as some of you. Today I am playing around with making unique painted wood tables, chairs and whatever else I dream up. I'm just taking baby steps at this point, but hope to use most of the techniques I learned in my years in the sign trade, and still do a sign now and then.
I also enjoy travel. Been to Ireland a couple times in the last 3 years and all over the western U.S. these past few months. I look forward to gaining some knowlege here and sharing what I can.
Chuck

THATgirl