• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help, help! xc-540 Head - Man Down

Salmoneye

I am very new to this. A few days ago my printer stopped printing magenta. one half would not fire at all and the other side of the head fired 20%. I did a cleaning cycle with no change. Thought I was out of in so I installed new ink, cleaning cycle and exact same. I did a cleaning with swabs etc, no change. I ran an agresive cycle that uses a bunch of ink and a few more bits are firing and the side of the head that had nothing now has one little strip. How can I fix this? Soak it? How? Should I scrub the nozzles with a swab?
Any and all help appreciated.

veloxgraphics

Sounds like you have a bad cap top. If the cap top isnt sealing correctly it cant pull enough vaccum to perform the aggressive head cleaning. You will likely need a new cap top (About $35-40) and a good head soaking to get things rolling again.

JoshLoring

If its still not working after all that then NetFryer is right...
unfortunately.
I bought my XC before they made that part a combustible part so my caps are warrantied =)

Salmoneye

I scrubbed the actual nozzle surface with a swab and cleaner several times, put cleaner on the cap and ran many medium cleans and I am good to go. I am ordering a new cap for thursday though because I think it will just happen again. Thank you guys.

veloxgraphics

be extremely careful touching the printhead... the nozzles are piezo electric and very sensitive to physical force. When i got my machine the test prints looked just like yours... i took the print heads out, set them in a glass dish that had about 1/8" of solvent in it, and ensured that nothing but the metal of the printhead touched the solvent.