• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help!!!!! I Have A Van Roof Wrap

Dejohn

My customer is a radio station that wants their now bright yellow van completely wrapped in graphics....My issue is how to do the roof its a Ford Aerostar van so its not huge, Oh and it has racks on the roof...Do I just bridge some scaffolding across it, Maybe repel from the celing like Tom Cruise in the 1st Mission Impossible. I'm really new at wraping (unless you count Christmas Presents) I have done 1 half wrap and that didnt go across the roof. So any help or advise would be great..Thanks Dennis

Craig Sjoquist

1st. I look at equipment on hand or can easily get
2nd. can you take roof racks off easily
3rd think Big Squeegee

Get a Hot Air Balloon with a open platform hover over and apply while hanging upside down, holding on with one leg, swinging back and forth.

Circleville Signs

Don't make it more complicated than it has to be. I would take the roof racks off for sure. Once those are off, use ladders. This can be done as a one man job, but I'd recommend having an extra set of hands. Also, remember, wrap material is repositionable. Just don't overstretch.

Start in the middle and work your way either forward or back. Then repeat.

Good luck!

Gary

cdiesel

Piece of cake.. Like Circleville said, try to remove the racks if you can. If not, you'll have to work around/under them. Don't expose more of the vinyl than you have to, and work in sections.

And DO NOT use a Big Squeegee! While the BS works fine for applying transfer tape, you will never be able to apply sufficient squeegee pressure with that large of a surface. Also, you'll want to work in sections and the Big Squeegee is just that.. Big. Too big to maneuver correctly and efficiently.

The Big Squeegee