• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help! Mixed inks on SP540V

N Johnston

Hi there, I'm new to the signmaking world, graphic designer turned to signmaking. Just to start off with I thought I'd get an older Roland eco solvent to learn on for a time before buying new, so I got an SP540V 4 colour printer at a decent price. I'm completely new to these printers. After watching and reading online about these to teach myself, all is oing well so far with it after about 6 weeks in. The guy I bought it from was using Max2 bulk system 3rd party inks. And it needed new ink as it was low on 2 of the 4 colours when I got it home. So I went to order Max2 compatible bulk inks and after chatting to an ink supplier he told me that the SP540V is supposed to run on Max not Max2 and that my Yellow sounded like it was Max going by its colour. So now I'm thinking the guy who sold me it was mixing Max and Max2 inks!! I realise you aren't supposed to do that. Soo...my questions to you are, although its printing really well at the moment, I really want to clean this baby up and put all Max bulk system 3rd party inks in it and do away with the Max 2 inks that he had in it.

Q1. I have alot of ink in the bulk system currently, mix of Max and Max2 (probably more Max2). So do I throw all the money down the drain and get rid of the old ink OR do you think I'd be safe enough using it up until its all gone considering its been printing really well currently?

Q2. What would be the process for changing over to all Max inks, what do I need to physically do with the printer so the old ink is cleaned out of the bulk ink system and I put the new Max inks in?