• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help with Summa D60 SE and OPOS registration

signdude

Hello,

Total newbie here. Cutting out small decals with the Summa using the registration marks and the OPOS. Using Illustrator to print and the bundled Winplot software to cut.

For some reason, the cuts are not aligned with the OPOS origin marker. They are offset by about 1/2" in the Y axis and 1/8" in the X axis. The cutter does go and correctly senses each of the registration markers. What am I doing wrong? Right now I am compensating with my contour file and shifting everything up and over a bit, but this is obviously a clumsy solution.

Why is everything offset? Do I need to do something special to the contour file? Also, the cutter cuts out the registration markers which seems odd. Is it supposed to do that? How can I turn that off?

Thanks!

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
Most likely the actual print is slightly different in both directions than the logical print in your software. Then, when the plotter senses the registration marks, it's not doing anything with that information or doing too much. Once the registration marks are sensed the plotter either has to send this information to the software driving the plotter so that the logical points can be mapped to physical points or the plotter may do the mapping internally.

This is either the software or the plotter, not both. If both do it, any compensation required to map the logical points to the physical points will be twice what they are supposed to be. If neither does it, the cut will be off an amount representing the difference in X and Y motion between the two machines.