• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hi and about me. The way things happen.

Fitch

I get a little frustrated sometimes at this section... lol. I actually DO want to know about you. People FASCINATE me.

Me? I was a Bank Manager. So many corporate people (above me) heading towards the almighty profits and away from client service, ingenuiety, caring, flexibility and accountabilty and responsibilty. Everyone wanted to pass the buck and not take responsibilty for their own actions or (lack of) growth. So I said bye bye.

It was the beginning of summer 1995, my neighbour and I were sitting out back with the guitars and a bottle of Jim Beam. Needless to say by the finish of the bottle, we were pretty down on those we were working for. Working our a$$es of for 60-70 hrs a week while they made the money.

Fast forward to the end of summer. Same deal only this time I said "well let's stop talking about it and do something about it". We contemplated what we could do working for ourselves, and don't ask me how but "signs" came up as an option. Already got a computer, all we need is some software and a plotter.

We were "signwriters".

I worked part time 4 nights a week to establish the business and after 6 months bought him out. He could have told me he was colour blind and scared of heights BEFORE we started don't you think?

After a while it got back to me that I was a "vinyl jock" by the local signwriting fraternity. That hurt. All I was trying to do was put my business skills to use with something that was fun. I was prepared to put in 60-70 hours for someone else, might as well do it for myself.