Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by cr6surfs, Dec 5, 2006.

1. cr6surfs

cr6surfs New Member

Dec 4, 2006
    Hi Signs 101:

Like several other "newbies" I have also been a lurker on this site for a while.

So what to tell you all? Well I am certainley a "newbie" and an amatuer. My start in "sign making" happened quite by accident. By profession I am a Systems Engineer.

I am an avid waterman and live on the NJ Coast. One of my many endeavours is rebuilding wooded boats ( believe there is no money in that it is absolutely a passion).

So how I got started, well several years ago I was instructed to take some courses toward my MBA from my employer....frankly I was burnt out..so while standing in line for registration I signed up instead for Drawing and Typography courses...my boss was none to pleased...too bad. As I mentioned I was feeling "burnt out" and needed a "creative spark". I absolutely loved the courses. Anyway I began making hand carved and routed quarter boards etc for some of the boats I had restored and then the calls sort of rolled in.

Most of my work has been designed on a drafting table ( yes I know old school...whatever) and a pounce wheel. I have been using Adobe Illustrator as well.

I have no illusions of making $$$$zillions and there are plenty of sign shops in this area ....some excellent and some horrible.

I will likely start up very slowly, plan , choose markets/customers carefully and purchase capital equipment only when I absolutely must as there are plenty of contract CNC and Sandblast companies around (yes my interests are in carved signs).