• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hiring new employees, any words of wisdom

anthony smith

Best places to place ads, go thru employment company,
What has worked for you ?????
I have been doing this for 20+ years and love what i do,
but the time has come to take over more of the management and less of the actual production end of my company.
Ours is a family business like so many but sons decided a few years ago they didn't want the 12-16 hr days and weekends so have spread their wings and
few the coupe.
So now i am left with a large amount of work with no experienced help, so 18 hr days 7 days a week for the last couple years
Really need to find a couple quailty people but so for, have really not had any luck.
Need to get serious with this staffing issue since i would love to create a business attractive to a potential buyer
Numbers all look great but work load is so overwhelming the average person is not going to tackle.
any hints and or suggestions.
Greatly appreciated

CanuckSigns

Our biggest issue we have found is us, I'm not a very good teacher, I can do anything in the shop, but I'm horrible at teaching someone how to do it.

If you are like me, try to find people who have experience already, it will cost you more, but it will be worth it, they may even teach you a few things.

also, if you are working those kinds of hours, I'm surprised you have waited this long to look for someone!

WildWestDesigns

Really need to find a couple quailty people but so for, have really not had any luck.

Some of that I do believe is a part of where you are at as well. Demographics are going to play a part (Alicia is from Huntland, so I've been around there quite a bit). You've had a lot of "drain" out of that town to other places.